Veronica

I found this to be a very disturbing and honest account of what it is like to have schizophrenia. I found it a bit disjointed and hard to read at certain times but I think that this was intended by the author to show you what is going on in the schizophrenic mind.
Eugene starts off as a regular well educated and working adult but as the illness takes over he has to deal with homelessness, joblessness, and being barely able to survive.
I found the story to be very stark and sincere. I want to thank the author for offering me to read the book with no request for a review. I wanted to do one because I think this is an important book for people who want to understand what schizophrenia is and how it affects those who have it. Hopefully, it will also help others who do have it to know they are not alone. Highly recommended.
Melonie Kydd

Beautifully written!! Very profound and thought provoking!!
Thank you for sharing your story – as someone who deals with depression, generalized anxiety disorder I know how much of a sting stigma leaves..

I would reccomend this book to everyone!!!
http://meloniekydd.wordpress.com/

I received a free pdf copy!!!

Brooke

I received a free pdf copy for review!

This was an extremely interesting story about Eugene and his life with schizophrenia. He went from a fully functional, well-educated and working adult to jobless, homeless, and (barely) surviving on maxed out credit cards. The story was never boring or dull, I just wish it had a bit more emotion behind Eugene’s struggle. The book seemed to just retell life events. “Show, don’t tell”. The story does a lot of telling with not much emotion behind it.

“In flight, he had terrible hallucinations that the plane was under attack. There was turbulence, and he thought that it was the result of remote interference with the plane’s engines. He also thought the plane was being rerouted, and when it landed he was confused about what city he was in (page 32)”.

And that was all there was to it! No emotions just a more or less well this happened and then this… I feel like for me it was hard to make an emotional connection, and while I do have a very introductory knowledge on the difficulties of schizophrenia, I think this lack of emotional connect between the story and the reader might be difficult for some who have never encountered anything on schizophrenia before.

However, other than that storytelling aspect, reading about Eugene’s life was fascinating. From his methods of contact and acronyms, to the simple fact that he was able to survive in a foreign country and travel across the United States while remaining in tact. How Eugene managed to stay out of jail (especially with foreign laws) and out of the hospital while hearing hallucinatory voices is a complete mystery!

The bit about (view spoiler) was one of my favorite parts. I really loved that it showed how truly disconnected Eugene had gotten from reality.

“But he still didn’t think he was ill. He thought he was coming of age as a powerful psychic, learning what threatened the world and how to do his part in saving it. He would protect her and everyone like her, he thought, from forces beyond their comprehension (page 149)”.

The last chapter, ‘One’, which recounted how the lives of others and their thoughts’ changed due to mental illness, was a great way to end the book. It was important that then ending stressed how what works for one person with mental illness does not always work for another person with mental illness – that’s a big part of the stigma those who suffer face and I’m glad the book addressed it.

Roberto Mattos

This is a very well written book where the author tells the story of Eugene, a well educated person who teaches at a college and start dealing with schizophrenia. Initially he does not think that there is anything wrong with him and does not look for professional help. But as time goes by, after suffering a lot and seen his life almost go to the drain, he notices that something is not correct. The book describes in a very realistic way all his struggles with relationships and the ways he tries to deal with the fact that he is hearing voices and having hallucinations. The thought of extraterrestrials trying to contact him and spirits, celebrities, spies and telepathic contacts, all contributes to the plot. In his journey through schizophrenia he finds friends, love, and people who really care about him. He goes from America to Asia and back, always using his credit cards to the limit. In this realistic description of an schizophrenic mind, we learn how a person can suffer and go from success to losing everything, without realizing what is affecting his/her mind in time to search for a professional help. I recommend this book to all readers that enjoy a well written book and want to improve their knowledge in this journey through an ill mind.
I received this book from the author for reviewing and I was not requested to write a positive review. Opinion expressed here is my own.
Lavinyaa Pash

I know it took me heck of a lot of time to finish it.
And I know I almost DNFed it at about 60% because my brain was so tired (because of the end of school, my sister’s exam and breakdowns, my way out of my love her for boyfriend, comfort for my sister because her boyfriend was about to break-up with her – or so we thought- right before her exames, etc, etc). Believe me when I say that I had little to not time.

But when it got to Korea, a light shone. There was something itchin’ in the back of my head: ‘There’s Korea in that book, with Korean phrases and words and Gosh, it’s some Korea in the book’. And I ended up finishing the book.

I must confess that, though I had a hard and dizzying (?) time with this book, at its end, I came to realize I quite enjoyed it.

Schizophrenia is one of my favorite subject, in real life, because I think those people are just the greatest. They are so special and I think they should get respect over pity or something like that.

Anyway, good job, A.T. Morton because you made something unthinkable and unknown itch in my head!

